Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

"On Green" only tournaments, anyone interested?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "On Green" only tournaments, anyone interested?

Just curious if anyone else would like to see "On Green" only tournaments started? Essentially on the green anywhere is an auto 2 putt, inside 6' is a 1 putt.
    I do enjoy playing in the current tournaments with "Gimme" but in my opinion the putting really takes away from it. I have both TGC and JNPG, putting on both in all honesty stinks.
    Hitting shots to a target I like, putting to a screen, not so much.
    Anyone else have the same thoughts?

I just started playing TGC today so my insight may not hold water, but I would agree that putting is not easy at all. I know what a 10' putt feels like IRL. It is hard to feel the green below your feet in any sim play and see grain, breaks etc. I have not played in a tournament, but after playing with it today I can see how the score really adds up when you are putting so bad. I will stay tuned to see if this becomes an option in tournament play.

Comment

Sorry, a non-starter for me. Six foot gimmes are plenty generous and compensate for the vagaries of sim putting.

Comment

Would hasten the round big time. Putting will come around as you get used to it, though. I'm a bit worried to get out and play when it warms up and see if putting on TGC has helped or hurt IRL.

Comment

Before I played TGC I played FR1 courses with the putting set to manual input and we putted on my outside green and used a tape measure and someone else would pick the spot to putt from and we manually entered the putts. I liked doing that but it took a little longer but was way more fun. But haven't done that since I have been using the TGC, but putting on the sim is not that great but it's the same for everyone

Comment