Take dots off before real golf?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Take dots off before real golf?

I saw that a PGA pro was penalized for leaving the dots on.
    Do regular club golfers in club comps care about the dots?

It's technically a rules violation so you'll have to assess on a case basis, depending on how much of a stickler (read: douche) your playing partner is.

Safest bet is to remove them.

Comment

• mts
      mts commented
      Editing a comment
      Lord, there's always "that guy" you have to deal with when you play in tournaments. One reason I don't play in many. If I were playing golf for a living I might worry about it, but I don't so it's just for fun. I'll take the dots off for "that guy" when I do play tournaments, but otherwise leave them on. They make zero difference to anything. It's another one of the stupid rules in golf that is too broad and doesn't fit the issue. Thankfully we've been seeing some of those dumb rules finally get changed in recent years and I suspect this one will get changed in the near future as well. Outside of tournaments, if someone in my regular weekend game asked me to take them off, I would find a new game.

• Wizard of Coz
      Wizard of Coz commented
      Editing a comment
      I would peel them off for Iacas in a local event as long as he puts them back on for me after it. 😆

• iacas
      iacas commented
      Editing a comment
      That one's not being changed mts. You can't put stuff on the clubface. And "that guy" is the guy breaking the Rules.

I remove them for tournies, for normal play I leave them on. But yes, they are technically a rules violation.

Comment

• Wizard of Coz
      Wizard of Coz commented
      Editing a comment
      I would ask before the event for an exception before pealing them off. Our local amateur association will make an exception. Some people are smarter than others and they
      are pretty smart.