Announcement

Collapse

TGC Tour - Congratulations!

Congrats to @Marc Andre (NET AND GROSS) winning the TGC1 2019 FALL TOUR - Hero World Challenge !

Join this weeks TGC1 2019 FALL TOUR - Presidents Cup with 2 rounds at Royal Melbourne West (ProTee) : https://golfsimulatorforum.com/forum...presidents-cup
See more
See less

Fixed Skytrak not reading shots... kind of...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fixed Skytrak not reading shots... kind of...

*** Disclaimer ***
    The fix for my Skytrak problem required me to disassemble the unit. I am out of warranty and this process would void any warranty that would have been in place. I am a software engineer with hardware expertise. I'm not suggesting that you attempt this unless you are fully confident I'm your abilities.

In other words... I'm not responsible for you breaking your Skytrak!

TL;DR: The laser curtains on these devices can fail prematurely. This will cause the skytrak to not read shots on either left or right hand mode but not both. It is possible to swap the left and right laser curtain which would allow shots to read in the opposite direction but not the other (i.e. if it's not reading right handed shots this would cause it to not read left handed shots and allow right handed to read)

The Problem
    A few weeks ago my Skytrak stopped reading shots. Laser stayed red and no shot data was sent to TGC or the Skytrak app.

How Skytrak Works
    Skytrak relies on two infrared (IR) laser curtains (aka trigger) that detects a ball flying into through it. One laser is for right mode shots and the other is for left hand mode shots. When these are triggered it fires off an IR led flash and takes two pictures which it then sends to the appropriate the app for processing.

Troubleshooting
    I spent a few hours troubleshooting and found that the right hand laser curtain was defective. Here are the main points of interest that brought me to this conclusion